Why Do You or Your Child Need to Follow a Gluten-Free Diet?
The gluten free diet is used in the treatment of celiac sprue and dermatitis herpetiformis. Although a gluten free diet does not cure celiac sprue and dermatitis herpetiformis, following the diet will relieve the symptoms associated with gluten sensitivity.
How Do I Know What Foods Contain Gluten?
• To find out what foods contain gluten it is important to read food labels. Products change frequently so check the label carefully before purchasing. Contact the manufacturer if more information on ingredients is needed.
• Oats do not naturally contain gluten, but they are often contaminated with wheat or other grains and may need to be avoided.
• Avoid products with any of the following ingredients on the label:
Wheat*: includes items made or processed with flour; various parts of the wheat kernel (including the germ, bran and endosperm); and grain species derived from prohibited grains (for example: triticale is a hybrid of wheat and rye).
Barley: includes all parts of the barley grain and items produced from barley (such as malt flavorings, brown rice syrup, brewer’s yeast and beer).
Rye: includes all parts of the rye grain, usually found in our food supply as rye flour and rye bread. Unlike wheat and barley, rye is typically not used as a food additive.
Oats: includes all products containing oats (including oat flour, oat bran and oat gums). There are sources of uncontaminated oats available; talk with your dietitian or gastroenterologist about how to introduce oats safely.